In Praise of You

Oh what pleasure!

Hot cocoa and creme brulee,

Bonfires in a freezing Shimla night,

happy faces of strangers in packed buses.

 

When you speak with me,

time smiles back.

 

Voices drop suddenly,

autumn leaves turn to listen.

That heady, rippling, cascading sound.

 

When you laugh with me,

the world stands still.

 

Your tales speak of a magic,

that see through hearts,

that kick start my pulse.

 

When I weave my matrix of words,

your stories take a special place.

 

Things get simple.

Corners everywhere.

The honey in your wisdom,

sweetens my thoughts.

 

The world seems fickle,

fragile love, tough to keep.

Like ships adrift, fearful of anchors.

Yet you are sturdy,

an oak that holds me.

 

I believe I am gifted,

heaven’s true child.

Happy in my company.

When did you ease your way in?

 

Don’t know if I am right,

but can’t say this is a mistake.

When you seem so different.

Maybe we will make a life,

touch our souls and never leave.

Imagine how wild that would be!

 

3 thoughts on “In Praise of You

  1. I fell in love with Himachal Pradesh, after I started reading Ruskin Bond. ‘Hot cocoa and creme brulee in the freezing shimla night’ – sounds like a delightful proposition. Thanks for such a wonderful reminder of the place.

Leave a Reply

